INT. PENELOPE’S LIVING ROOM-AFTERNOON

Penelope holds the alabaster box close to her breast as if she is willing to die for it. Joanne approaches Penelope, causing Penelope to take a step back. Joanne’s daughters, Elizabeth, 17, and Autumn, 14, glance at each other, as if wondering if they should step in.

JOANNE

That box does not belong to you!It was only meant to stay within the family!

PENELOPE

I am family. This is also the last gift I got from my husband.

JOANNE

That box belonged to my mother. My mother would want that box to go to her daughter!

JOANNE reaches for the box, but PENELOPE steps aside, keeping the box out of arm’s length.

JOANNE

Penelope, please. That is the last thing I have left of my mother. I need it.

PENELOPE can see the tears start to form in JOANNE’s eyes.

PENELOPE

I understand why you want this box. But…and please correct me if I’m wrong Joanne…but Charles once told me that your father gave this box to him because he felt it would get lost in your collection of jewelry boxes. Was Charles wrong about that?

JOANNE’s eyes begin to narrow. Then she lets out a sigh.

JOANNE

My father did think I was irresponsible enough to lose it, yes. But that has changed. I’ve given most of my jewelery boxes to my own girls. Besides, I doubt I would lose it now, considering it is the last thing I have left of my mother. Now give it to me.

PENELOPE

That’s funny coming from you, Joanne.  Where were you when your mother was sick? Wendy told you hardly came to visit her. Did you know that the last time I saw her, she was completely delirious? She looked at me and said, “Joanne, there you go! Getting your shoes all dirty again. You were always a wild one.”

Tears begin to form in Penelope’s eyes.

PENELOPE

“I’m so sorry for all the things I said to you. I love you so much. Could you ever forgive me?” I didn’t have the heart to tell her that I wasn’t you. So I told her…that I forgive her. Joanne, you were never much of a daughter to her when you were alive. There’s no point in trying now. Wendy would want this box to stay with the daughter who actually cared about her up to the very end.

JOANNE

How dare you! You have no right to speak to me that way. You…you don’t even know what happened between my mother and me. (takes a deep breath) I couldn’t bear to see my mother like that. I was in denial. I told myself she would get better. That there’s no need to see her while she’s like that  because she’ll get better soon. That is a mistake I will always regret. But despite what you think, Penelope, you are not her daughter. You don’t deserve that box. Perhaps you’re keeping it because it is the last thing you have of Charles. But that box didn’t even belong to Charles. What is the point of keeping something that was not his to begin to with?

AUTUMN

Elizabeth, do something.

ELIZABETH

Me? Why do I have to do it?

AUTUMN

Because you’re the one who wants to be a lawyer and you’re the oldest. Maybe you can get them to come to some kind of agreement. I don’t know. Just stop this before they kill each other.

ELIZABETH looks back and forth between JOANNE and PENELOPE. Knowing her mother, ELIZABETH is certain the argument could turn to blows. ELIZABETH takes one last look at AUTUMN before she slowly approaches them as if she is about to approach a minefield.

PENELOPE

This box was given to Charles first, who gave it to me. As his wife, it’s only right that I keep the box.

JOANNE gives a harsh laugh.

JOANNE

That’s a load of crap and you know it. As his sister and actual daughter of its original owner, I deserve that box.

ELIZABETH

Sorry for interrupting. But I must ask, what exactly do you have in mind for the box, Mom?

JOANNE

What do you mean?

ELIZABETH

I mean what do you plan to do with it, if Aunt Penelope were to give it to you?

JOANNE pauses. She thinks for a moment.

JOANNE

I would use it store my jewelry, of course. Then, I plan to pass it on to you or Autumn. (Turns to Penelope). Which makes sense considering that you don’t have children. Honestly, who do you plan to pass that down to when you die? Where you planning on letting it collect dust?

ELIZABETH

Mom, please. (She turns to Penelope). Aunt Penelope, what do you plan to do with this box?

PENELOPE

I plan to store photos of Charles and myself. I also plan to store the jewelry that he gave me. But mostly, I plan to store it on my nightstand so I can still have a piece of Charles with me. So I won’t go to bed alone-because he will still be with me.

Tears start to form in PENELOPE’s eyes. JOANNE’s eyes begin to soften.

JOANNE

Oh goodness. I haven’t even thought of that. You…goodness. You…the idea of being alone must be terrifying.

ELIZABETH

Mom, I’m sure Aunt Penelope respects that you are Grandma’s daughter. I’m sure she understands how important it is for you to have something of hers.

PENELOPE

And I do. Joanne,I…I know I implied that you were not being a good daughter. But…I understand that you must have been terrified when Wendy was ill. It’s just…you and Wendy did not have the closest relationship. Wouldn’t she want the box to go to someone that she was close to?

JOANNE

(defensively) What does that matter? Am I not her daughter?

ELIZABETH

Yes, Mom, you are. But so is Aunt Penelope. When she married Uncle Charles, she became Grandma’s daughter. This is no different from Grandpa handing the box down to Uncle Charles instead of you. Surely, you’d understand that Grandma would’ve passed it down to the child she was closest to? It’s why Uncle Charles gave her the box instead. He knew her relationship with Grandma is stronger than your relationship with her.

JOANNE looks away. At this point, AUTUMN has gained the courage to walk over.

AUTUMN

I’M sure you two could come to some kind of agreement without killing each other? (She turns to Elizabeth). Right?

ELIZABETH

Aunt Penelope, you made a good point on your reasoning for keeping the box. Not only were you closer with Grandma, but it seems like you need the box more. To keep you from feeling lonely. To remember that Uncle Charles and Grandma will both be by your side no matter what. And Mom, you made a good point about the box needing an heir. Perhaps when Aunt Penelope passes away, the box could be handed down to me or Autumn.

AUTUMN

Especially since we both had a stronger relationship with Grandma than you. (Elizabeth glares at her). Just saying.

ELIZABETH

Well?

JOANNE looks at her daughters, than at PENELOPE. She gives a tight smile as tears fall down her eyes. She nods her head. PENELOPE leans in and hugs JOANNE. JOANNE wraps her arms around PENELOPE. The two women cry softly into each other’s shoulder. AUTUMN nudges ELIZABETH in the side.

AUTUMN

Maybe there’s hope for you yet.

Leave a comment